Canadian singer Alessia Cara is signed to EP Entertainment and Def Jam Recordings and is best known for “Here”, her debut single from the debut album, Know-It-All, released November 13 last year. A sleeper hit, the song reached the top 5 in the United States and the top 20 in Canada. Prior to her work for Def Jam, she produced acoustic covers on YouTube.

On Sunday, she took home the Juno Award for Breakthrough Artist of the Year. She down with Music Choice today and spoke about the accomplishment.

“Winning the JUNO was umm really surreal. Um again that sounds like it’s such a cliché thing. I feel like every artist says, ‘It’s so surreal!’ but it really is…and if you’re in this position, you understand how surreal it actually feels. It doesn’t feel like I even have…it. And like I, I, I say it and I know it’s real, but it just…it just hasn’t hit that part of my brain that can understand or process things. Umm I don’t know…I guess when you’re up there and you’re a new artist you just always expect them to say someone else’s name and so I was expecting them to say someone else…and when they said me…I don’t know! It…it just didn’t feel real. I think I blanked the entire time! I was watching it back…watching me win and watching what I was doing and I don’t remember doing any of that! I don’t remember grabbing my mom, I don’t remember hugging anyone. It was just such a crazy feeling! I don’t know…It’s awesome though…really cool.”

@MusicChoice@alessiacara

Follow Shamika Sanders on Twitter and be sure to tune in to The Miss Independent Show with yours truly coming soon Sundays only on 100.1 The Heat!

Leave a Reply

